100 films in 100 days – Liar Liar #100films

LIAR LIAR, Jim Carrey, 1997

The 70th film of my 100 film challenge is Liar Liar. I love this classic 90s comedy! It’s definitely one of my faves. I love Jim Carrey and he is on fine form here. I have other Jim Carrey films that I love more, but this one is still a lot of fun.

I know a lot of people are divided in their opinion of Jim Carrey, and I understand why people might not like him. For me, he’s a comedy hero. Liar Liar is a somewhat less physical performance for Carrey, where often he is actually playing his character rather straight.

Once the truth-telling kicks in the laughs come thick and fast. I personally love the little comments he says to people. Particularly when a colleague asks him “How’s it hanging?”… “Short, shriveled and always to the left.”

Brilliant.

The cast are great too, Maura Tierney matches up well as Carrey’s Ex and Cary Elwes is perfect as the dorky boyfriend. The kid is especially good and is incredibly cute, having great chemistry with on-screen parents Carrey and Tierney.

There are a lot of memorable bits in the film, perhaps the court room scenes are the highlights. I find that Liar Liar consistently makes me laugh each time I see it and I hope that we get to see many more comedies from Carrey in the future.

Leave a comment